Stampin' Up! · Tutorials

Watercolour Technique with Stampin’ Write Markers

 

Watercolour technique with Stampin’ Up! Swallowtail stamp

Pretty in Pink & Beautiful to boot!! A truly lovely card that is easier to recreate than you might think, keep reading to find out how you can make a one off watercolour masterpiece of your very own…

I have loved the Stampin’ Up! swallowtail stamp since I first purchased it a few years ago & it has seen frequent use since then; However I have recently become a little obsessed with everything watercolour & my faithful friend has been somewhat neglected 😦 , does that ever happen to you? So when I came across this idea on Pinterest, I knew I just had to give it a go! I could feel the creative urge (when I come across something fabulous) building, & I quickly carved out the time to try this watercolour technique for myself. It’s quick & easy & because it’s a lot like colouring in, it’s very therapeutic too.

I’ve listed below the Stampin’ Up! products that I used for this particular card or suggested a substitute if I’ve used an older SU colour.

For extra bling, why not use the new Wink of Stella clear glitter brush? I tried it in small sections & ended up using it all over my stamped image after it dried to add a magical gossamer like shimmer….Unbelievably pretty on the pink.

1: Cut & score SU thick Whisper White cardstock, to make your card base.

2: Cut an extra piece of Whisper White cardstock to emboss later & cut 2 pieces of Blushing Bride cardstock to use as layers in between all that Whisper White. Grab a piece of Watercolour paper for stamping on.

3: Stick your clear mount Swallowtail stamp onto an acrylic stamp block.  (Handy Hint: If you don’t have a block large enough, you can use a cutting plate from your big shot if it’s still nice & flat)

4: Choose your favourite SU Stampin’ Write markers & start colouring in your stamp. I used 3 or 4 colours for my pink butterfly & coloured in with the lightest colour closest to the body & then graduated outwards using a slightly darker colour each time. (I used Pink Pirouette, Blushing Bride, Pretty in Pink & Rose Red. Pretty in Pink has retired but you could try Calypso Coral or Melon Mambo for a different look or even new Watermelon Wonder)

5: By now you are probably thinking to yourself that the ink is drying on your stamp & won’t be wet enough to stamp with by the time you finish colouring in. Don’t panic it will all be okay. I actually decided to make 2 cards at once so I coloured the whole  Swallowtail butterfly image in.

6: Once you have coloured in your stamp, either hold it flat horizontally or place it down somewhere you don’t mind things getting a little wet, then spritz/mist with water from your SU Spritzer bottle. The water from the spritzer bottle will rehydrate the ink on your stamp, clever hey! (Top Tip: Experiment with the amount of water you spritz on your stamp, more water gives a more blended, watercolour look to your final stamped image, but if it’s too wet you will lose some of the detail of the stamp, it’s all personal preference really.)

7: Stamp your image onto the watercolour paper or you could even SU Shimmery White cardstock, that would look really pretty.

8: I gently placed a few extra acrylic stamp blocks onto the edges of my paper to hold it flat, so that the wet ink didn’t stray outside the outline of the butterfly while it was drying.

9: Once dry adhere your stamped image onto SU Blushing Bride cardstock, again I used my Tombow glue as it gives me a chance to line things up before it dries.

10: Using a small single hole punch I carefully punched 2 holes into the top portion of the wing & threaded SU Calypso Coral Extra Thick bakers twine through the holes from the back. I used the bakers twine to tie on a length of the new Blushing Bride sequin trim.

11: Looking through my embossing folders I chose an oldie but a goodie & used the retired “Pretty Print” for some extra texture. I placed a piece of Whisper White cardstock inside the embossing folder & ran it through my Big Shot machine. I then glued the embossed cardstock onto the biggest piece of Blushing Bride cardstock that I had previously cut.

12: All you need to do now, is stick the embossed layer onto your card base, & then the stamped layer on top of that. It can be tricky getting a good grip & strong adhesion on something as heavily textured as the embossed layer, I have found that Tombow glue works time & again without fail as it gets into all the grooves & holds on tight.

Congratulations you have finished your one off masterpiece!

If you coloured & stamped your whole stamp as I did, is there a difference between to the 2 sides of the Swallowtail butterfly? I certainly noticed a difference with mine. Leave me comment or send a picture of your card, I’d love to know how your card worked out :-).

 

Watercolour Technique in blues using Stampin’ Up! Swallowtail stamp
Watercolour Technique in pinks using Stampin’ Up! Swallowtail stamp
Watercolour technique Trio Stampin’ Up! Swallowtail Stamp

Subscribe to my free Monthly Newsletter mailing list

* indicates required

Email Address *

First Name
Last Name

Email Format

  • html
  • text

Leave a Reply

