Stampin' Up!

Be the Star – Stampin’ Up!

2016.03.16 Be the Star cards 2

I’ve got something a little different to share today. I’ve been busy working on some masculine cards in preparation for my eldest son’d 14th birthday tomorrow. It’s definitely scary but it’s true! I really can’t believe he’s 14 already, unless I’m looking at him, in which case, I’m looking in an upwards direction…… where has my baby & the time gone?!

So some of you might think , that I’d have guy style cards down pat by now. Especially as I’m the mother of 2 boys & have a husband who has a brother & I have a brother of my own & then there’s my dad, father-in-law & brother-in-law to boot. But truthfully I don’t! I still struggle with making a masculine card, especially one’s for teenagers & for boy’s in the 10-12yr old bracket as well (they have very definite ideas on what’s cool, trust me!).

But to get back to the cards, I’ve been eyeing off the Be the Star stamp set by Stampin’ Up! for a while now. This set has always been something that I’ve thought would be very versatile for greeting cards, in particular that difficult age group of tween’s & early teenagers, where puberty may or may not have started & some obviously masculine images may not be quite right. I was trying to come up with ideas for a birthday card last week (I’m always last minute with family cards) & I kept coming back to the Be the Star set. As I was flipping through the catalogue I stopped & looked at it again & noticed that it is currently part of a Bundle deal (Oh how I love a Bundle deal!!) with the coordinating Stars Framelits Dies. Well how was I supposed to resist? I mean really! If you add up all the savings I’ve made by purchasing bundle deals lately, I’m sure I’ve earned myself a free set somewhere along the way ;-).

Initially I wanted to work with just the Be the Star stamp set, but then I changed my mind & decided to get out some cool patterned paper in the form of the Everyday Chic DSP by Stampin’ Up!. The papers in this pack are all black & white patterns, great for guy & girl cards alike, BUT did you know that you can colour them? Yep! You can colour them in a variety of different ways & create your own unique DSP :-)…Too Cool for School, Huh!

2016.03.16 Be the Star cards 4

I chose to leave my Everyday Chic paper as it was. I think it feels right for a card for a 14yr old, & my discerning 12yr old son agrees, after all he’s the final word on what’s cool in this house. Here’s hoping the reciepent likes it too.

Much Love K xo

P.S. I used the Stampin’ Up! Boy’s will be Boy’s Stamp Set for the sentiments on the card in the middle 🙂

Here’s a list of all the products I’ve used to create the 3 cards :-)….oh & I can’t wait to make some pretty girl style cards using this set too.

Price: $169.00

Supply List

Subscribe to my free Monthly Newsletter mailing list

* indicates required
Email Address *

First Name
Last Name
Email Format

  • html
  • text

Leave a Reply

