Stampin' Up!

Stampin’ Up! Moonlight DSP & a couple of hours

Moonlight DSP Stampin’ Up!

What’s a girl to do when she’s confronted with a bargain on some fabulous Stampin’ Up! DSP?………. Buy it of course!! ;-).

I had promised myself that I wouldn’t be buying anymore DSP (Designer Series Paper), sometimes known as patterned paper. I mean I am SERIOUSLY addicted to this stuff!! I have a room overflowing with Stampin’ Up! DSP & various patterned papers, I kind of hoard it & save it for “special” lol! So it’s not like I needed more…..BUT! I couldn’t go past it. It’s an absolute steal at only $4.79 for a pack of paper that has 48 sheets of various designs & colours inside & of course because it’s Stampin’ Up! you can rest assured it has perfectly coordinating cardstock, inks & embellishments to go along with it :-). That’s one of the things that I love the most about Stampin’ Up! All those coordinating products makes crafting like a pro so easy!Want to have a closer look at each card? Well let me help you out…

Let’s call this one card number 1: It makes use of 2 different patterns within the pack. The card base is made from Thick Whisper White Cardstock (totally the BEST EVER for card bases). I used some Kraft cardstock for the “sticks”, Whisper White & Crushed Curry for the Star (Be the Star stamp set) & Smoky Slate cardstock, sponged over with Basic Grey Archival Ink for the mustache, which has resulted in a kind of velvety look that I’m liking ;-). The sentiment is from the SALE-A-BRATION promo set Perfect Pairing & stamped in Lost Lagoon ink onto more Whisper White. Finally I cut the shapes out using Stampin’ Up! Stars Framelits Dies, the very cool Stampin’ Up! Mustache Framelit Die & the sentiment banners from the Banner Triple Punch (very handy punch indeed).

Moonlight DSP Stampin’ Up!

Onto card number 2: Another masculine card, I think I’m getting better at masculine cards & the Moonlight DSP is perfect for them, so happy days all around. I’ve used some Sahara Sand cardstock for the base,& then layered Lost Lagoon & more Whisper White cardstock on top. I used the Hardwood background stamp to create the impression of some texture & stamped it using Sahara Sand ink. The sentiment is again from the SALE-A-BRATION promo set Perfect Pairing, if you want it, you need to get in quick, as SALE-A-BRATION ends this Thursday 31st March (tomorrow night). I have chosen a selection of the patterned paper from the Moonlight paper pad for the stars as well as some gold glimmer paper & cut the stars out by using 2 different sizes nested one inside the other to give me the star “frames” from the Stampin’ Up! Star Framelits Die set. The final additions are some Linen Thread, which is just divine! I love how natural looking it is & some dimensional’s to pop the whole front panel up for extra depth. I’m thinking this would be a great baby card or birthday card or even a graduation card, the Congrats sentiment itself is just so versatile :-).

Moonlight DSP Stampin’ Up!

 

Now for something a bit more feminine, card number 3: This one is smaller than the rest. I used a card from the Whisper White Note Card & Envelope set these are totally awesome & I highly recommend them for beginner crafter’s. They make creating a handmade card quick & easy, as they are pre-cut to size & pre-scored, making them easy to fold evenly. The set comes with matching envelopes so you never have to worry about not having one on hand & the cardstock used for the notecards themselves is nice & sturdy & very smooth so perfect for getting a nice crisp stamped imaged. You get 20 of each in the pack for $10.50 (AUD) another total steal if you ask me! I chose some pretty bokeh effect paper from the Moonlight DSP paper pad, trimmed it down to size & then added a smaller layer of Whisper White Cardstock & more patterned paper from the pad. Again I used Linen thread to add some interest, & I added a few Crushed Curry Candy dots from the regals collection. The hello sentiment is also from the SALE-A-BRATION promo. It’s from the Hello stamp set & is perfectly sized for cards & scrapbook/Project Life layouts. I didn’t have any Blackberry Bliss ink on hand, so I used Elegant Eggplant instead from my Stampin’ Write marker collection to ink up the stamp. I noticed after stamping it onto the patterned paper that there was a resist effect thanks to the paper itself, so I decided to add some extra oopmh! by using some clear Stampin’ emboss powder to heat emboss just the sentiment. Because I’m obsessed with dimension, (like truly obsessed, as in every second card at least features this technique), I popped the top layer up using some more, you guessed it dimensional’s lol! The little half circle niches were punched using a very small circle punch by Stampin’ Up!. I’ve taken 2 pics to try to show you the glossy look you get from heat embossing 🙂

Moonlight DSP Stampin’ Up!
Moonlight DSP Stampin’ Up!

 

 

For card number 4: I went with something a little more complicated but still within the realms of a beginner stamper who has a little patience. Thick Whisper White cardstock for the base again, a layer of Lost Lagoon, a layer of Whisper White which I texture embossed using the Happy Heart Textured Impressions Embossing Folder (wow that’s a mouthful!). I made use of the Banner Triple Punch again & added 3 banners to the embossed layer, using different patterns from the pad. A little more Lost Lagoon cardstock punched with an old border punch (Stampin’ Up! has some lovely ones at the moment that are on my wish list ;-)). To make the sentiment tag I grabbed some Pool Party cardstock & pulled out the Scalloped Tag Topper Punch (a real must have in my opinion) as well as the Stampin’ Up! Project Life Corner Punch to round the bottom edges. Again I was without my Blackberry Bliss cardstock, so I’ve substituted in some Rich Razzleberry instead for the heart, which I punched from the Sweetheart punch (so cute!). To brighten it all up I added some Hello Honey satin stitched ribbon, a few basic rhinestones & a white candy dot from the subltle’s pack. The white paper clip, was actually silver until I tried a technique I’ve been dying to do for ages. I simply heated the paperclip up using my heat gun (hold it using tweezers so you don’t burn yourself) & once it’s hot (about 30-60secs under the heat gun should do it) I dipped it into my Stampin’ Up! White Stampin’ Emboss powder to coat it (the heat from the metal helps the embossing powder cling to the paperclip). When it’s well coated, still holding it with tweezers, heat again with your heat gun until the powder melts & Voila! You’ve transformed your plain old paperclip into a gorgeous embellishment! I wonder what else I can find lying around that I could do this too…….? As the paperclip was quite bulky, I used dimensional’s to pop just the tag up for a smoother look. Oh I forgot to say that the My Friend sentiment is also from the SALE-A-BRATION promo stamp set that I previously used, called Hello.

Moonlight DSP Stampin’ Up!

 

So where did I get my inspiration from for these 4 cards? I jumped onto Pinterest & had a look around. These 4 cards really took my eye & I knew I had supplies & tools on hand that while not exactly the same as the ones these clever ladies have used, were close enough that I knew I’d have something lovely to show. And at the end of the day it’s lovely to have something that’s a little different in one way or another. It also goes to show how easy Stampin’ Up! have made it to replicate beautiful ideas using different tools & colours if you can’t get your hands on certain products.

Card 1: Cindy Schuster 2015-2016 Artisan Design Team, USA.

Card 2: Jacque Williams, New Zealand.

Card 3: Cindy Schuster 2015-2016 Artisan Design Team, USA.

Card 4: Inge Groot 2014-2015 Artisan Design Team on the Stampin’ Up! website

Here’s the product list for those who like to know… Much Love K xo

Supply List

Subscribe to my free Monthly Newsletter mailing list

* indicates required
Email Address *

First Name
Last Name
Email Format

  • html
  • text

Leave a Reply

