Stampin' Up!

Quickie Card – Stampin’ Up! Pun Intended

Ok, so last week was a SUPER, CRAZY busy week for me. Then it was followed by some crazy weather system that wreaked havoc on pretty much the entire east coast of Australia. So when Sunday rolled around & with about half an hour to spare, I whipped up a very quick card for my eldest to give to a mate for his birthday!

Now I don’t know about you, but when it comes to making a card, I’m a planner & a thinker & ok…if I’m honest, maybe I’m even a bit of a procrasinator (shhh don’t tell anyone!). I like to have time (at least a couple of hours) for a thought to happen & blossom & then bloom into something wonderful! Well this card did not come from one of those times. It was literally a 20 minute wonder (I still did some procrastinating over placement & paper choice lol!). And if I’m really truthful, I’m not sure if I should really be spending much more time than that on creating a card for a teenage boy, who may or may not be into birthday cards, I mean after all teenagers know everything & nothing much impresses them right?! Well not that they’d let us know anyway ;-).

Choosing the actual stamp set was easy, I wanted something that was kinda funny & definitely not feminine. Lucky for me I had the exclusive Hostess only NEW Pun Intended Stamp Set from Stampin’ Up! close at hand. I chose the camera image & the funny “Snappy Birthday” sentiment. It’s cool without being try-hard about it. I stuck to a monochrome colour scheme to streamline things & from my experience teenagers LOVE black to an almost obsessive level.

I went with some of Stampin’ Up!’s NEW DSP from the Playful Palette collection. Yes there are monochrome black & white pages in there, it’s not all loud bursts of colour. I trimmed it to fit around the stamped layer so that the dots look a little like the light bulbs around a mirror & I added some clear Wink of Stella to the flashbulb part of the camera image. If I had had another 5 mintues I would’ve Heat Embossed the whole thing in clear to give it a lovely gloss, but alas my time ran out.

Hope you like it!

Much Love K xo

05.06.2016 Snappy Birthday Pun Intended

The full product list is here below. Yes I only used 6 items to create this card! That must be a new all time best for keeping things to minimum ;-).

 

 

Leave a Reply

