Stampin' Up!

‘Tis The Sea-Sun, An Aussie Christmas – Stampin’ Up!

Happy Monday!! I hope you’ve started the week off on the right foot, I know it gets hard this time of year, weekends just seem to vanish in an instant, don’t they?!

Being that we are all full swing into the Festive season I wanted to share something bright & happy, & distinctly Australian with you, to help put a little sunshine in your day.

2016-12-04-day-at-the-beach-tis-the-sea-sun-01

I was busy using the Day at the Beach stamp set from Stampin’ Up! to create a card for an upcoming class, when this idea popped into my head. I was so excited that I had to abandon what I was doing & start creating this little number. (I’m wondering if that happens to you too?)

Now for those of you who might not know, we have a HOT Christmas here in Australia. There’s no snow, no reindeer, no sleigh bells or any of the traditional imagery you see depicted on many Christmas Cards. So keeping that in mind, I really wanted to create something unique, something that represented how many of us Aussie’s spend our time over the Christmas holiday period.

This is what I came up with…… A summer themed Christmas Tree!!

2016-12-04-day-at-the-beach-tis-the-sea-sun-02

It took me a little bit of time to fiddle around & get the placement of the various images right (I used my Stamp-a-ma-jig in the end) & to work out which colours I wanted to use (so many great choices with Stampin’ Up! colours).

Top Tip: I water coloured the images by picking up ink from the lid of each ink pad with my Aqua Painter. Once dry, I outlined each image with the coordinating Stampin’ Write marker using the nib end to get a fine even line.

Once I was happy with the design, I really wanted a sentiment that reflected the fun & theme of the card. I’d love to take credit for this one, but after a quick search on Pinterest I hit the jackpot with ‘Tis the Sea-Sun. It’s perfect don’t you think?! A match made in heaven :-).

I’d love to know what you think of my card, so please leave me a comment.

Much Love, K xo

Ps: The little Stars are from the Balloon Celebration Stamp Set & the little Flower is from the Swirly Bird Stamp Set, awesome product coordination from Stampin’ Up! :-).

I've Moved Image

I also have a little secret to confess, I use a retired colour called Lucky Limeade for the thongs (Flip Flops to non Aussies) & outlined it using the Old Olive Stampin’ Write marker.

Don’t forget the Year End Close Out Sale is happening right now! Click on the banner below to see what’s on sale 🙂

yearendcloseout_shareables_eng_1

Product List Below:

6 thoughts on “‘Tis The Sea-Sun, An Aussie Christmas – Stampin’ Up!

  1. I live in Florida and this would be a great Florida Christmas card. We did not have this set available but it is in the 2017 Occasions catty and will be on my order. I will CASE this idea for next year cards. Thank you for the fun layout.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Totally adorable “tree”! I’m in Tucson Arizona…may have to case you! Visited your wonderful country in 1991. Love it…except for the vegimite (spelling?)😝

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

