Stampin' Up!

Beautiful You makes a Work of Art – Stampin’ Up!

Wow it’s been a while since I was last shared what I’ve been up to on here, I do hope you haven’t felt abandoned? Please accept my apologies if you did.

So where have I been? Well nowhere really, I’ve still been here, busy creating lots of pretty things, I just haven’t been able to share with you until now (as they were secrets).

Let’s start catching up with one of my most recent cards.  I’ve had this idea rolling around in my head for months & I’ve been dying to try it out. Of course being me, I jumped in the deep end & I decided to give it go (at the last minute) & use it as my swap card for Stampin’ Up!’s Onstage Local event, last Saturday.

06.04.2017 Beautiful You 03

It took about 3 or 4 attempts using various Stampin’ Up! products to get “the right” rainbow. I shared some of my attempts in my Facebook group for class members & customers, because even I don’t get it right the first time, all the time.

To stamp, colour & shade my beautiful character, I used the Beautiful You stamp set from Stampin’ Up!, along with Basic Black Archival Ink, Watercolour pencils in Basic Grey, Basic Black & Early Espresso, Aqua Painters & Neutral Stampin’ Write Markers, again in Basic Grey, Basic Black & Early Espresso.

06.04.2017 Beautiful You 02

I’m going to admit that using darker coloured pencils isn’t for the faint hearted, you want to be feeling confident & bold when attempting to blend, grey & black, especially if you want to stay within the lines. I do LOVE the “softness” of the grey & when used with the black, it makes for lovely shadows & highlights.

Top Tip: Once your watercolouring has dried, try going back over it with a sharp pencil or fine tip marker (in a darker shade) to add shadows in the right places. Take it slow & easy, adding a little bit at time, that way you can’t over do it.

06.04.2017 Beautiful You 04

As for the rainbow….that was tricky. I tried freehand, I tried tracing circles around my dies, but I wasn’t happy. In the end I searched through my stash of stamps & came across the Work of Art stamp set. I took the large “swoosh” image & coloured it in using Stampin’ Write Markers from the Brights collection.

Top Tip: Always start with the lightest colour first so that you don’t ruin your markers by staining them with a darker colour. In this case I started in the middle of the stamp image with Daffodil Delight & worked upwards with Pumpkin Pie, Melon Mambo & Real Red to reach the top. I then used Old Olive, Bermuda Bay, Pacific Point & Rich Razzleberry in that order for the bottom half of the rainbow. 

Once I had all my colours on the stamp together, I grabbed a water spritzer & gently misted a couple of light pumps of water over the stamp before turning it over & stamping it down onto my paper.

Top Tip: Spritzing the extra water onto the stamp does 2 things:

1: It rehydrates the ink colours that you applied first as they may have dried a little while you were applying the other colours.

2: It helps to stop the paper from “grabbing/holding” onto the coloured ink, & will give you a better chance at blending it into a seamless rainbow.

As soon as I stamped my rainbow I used an Aqua Painter to gently blend the rainbow coloured lines together for even coverage. Be careful not to add too much water with your Aqua Painter as it can start to become murky looking if all the colours run into one another….too much water can also cause your rainbow colours to run in an upwards direction instead of downwards direction, which just looks strange.

To get my rainbow sparkle dust, I used the coordinating watercolour pencil colours & dotted them onto the paper. Again I used my Aqua Painter to gently smear them, giving them the look of falling sparkle dust….pretty pretty!!

06.03.2017 Beautiful You 01

And last but not least….

How to get my clear umbrella look:

1: I deliberately stamped my rainbow so that it overlapped my umbrella & could be “seen” through the umbrella itself.

2: I carefully drew in the top of my characters head/hair by lightly using a watercolour pencil & then added shadows using a Stampin’ Write Marker. 

3: I used the Basic Black Stampin’ Write Marker to draw in the umbrella shaft.  

So if you’re feeling like a challenge this Easter Long Weekend, why not give it a go yourself.

Much Love, K xo

You can shop online with me 24/7 for all of your Stampin’ Up! supplies, just click on the icon below to go straight to the online store.

Click here to shop online
Click icon above to shop online 24/7

Want to keep up to date with me when I’m not here on my blog page? You can find me on Facebook or Pinterest, using the icons below.

                                             ___facebook-icon ___pinterest-icon

___email-sign-up-contact-form-animation

 

Leave a Reply

