Stampin' Up!

Eastern Palace = Major Crush

Eastern Palace Cards, Blue Trio

Hello hello! Welcome back! 🙂

I hope you had a lovely Mother’s Day.

Eastern Palace Colour Combo Inspiration Board

It feels so good to be back on deck again & to be sharing with you…. (In case you didn’t know, I’ve been away on a family holiday & then had a few tech problems… hence the delays).

So with all the crazy happenings over the past month, & feeling like I was constantly playing catch up, I really wanted to sit down & take some time for myself….and by that I mean, I wanted to take some time to experiment & to come up with something new & a bit little different.

Lucky for me I had the NEW Eastern Palace Suite on hand, waiting for me to take it out of the box & play with it.

This NEW product suite is an extra special PRE-RELEASE from the upcoming Annual Catalogue.…say what? Yep, you read that correctly… the Eastern Palace Suite is available NOW!! No need to wait until June 1st for this incredible set, Yay!!! (And I’ll let you in on a little secret too…..If you place an order for either the Beginners Bundle or the Premier Bundle for more advanced crafters during May 2017 you’ll receive FREE Stampin’ Up! goodies as an EXTRA BONUS!! It’s Super Duper Exciting right!! I’ve popped all the details at the end of the post).

Getting back to the cards, I was actually half watching a TV show that was based on home renovation. The guy in the show was getting some custom made tiles created for his bathroom revamp. Now I do LOVE custom made, so of course my ears pricked up & I had to take a look….Well let me tell you, it’s a good thing I did. The little light in my head went PING! & that was it, I was off & running on card number one. You can see it below.

13.05.2017 Eastern Palace Card 01
Stampin’ Up! colours: Island Indigo, Dapper Denim, Night of Navy ink. Dapper Denim Cardstock.

I was hoping to create a pattern that reflected the look of “Morrocan” style mosaic tiles. For a first attempt I’m pretty happy with how it turned out & I really enjoyed playing around with three different shades of blue ink to get a lovely monochrome colour scheme.

Card Number two came about after I created the sentiment for card number one. I was having a pretty big crush on the lovely ombre effect I’d gotten from using the baby wipe technique, & thought it would pretty fabulous when stamped as a repetitive pattern, so I just decided to go for it & give it crack. I think the results speak for themselves. Card number two is pretty & light & there’s something about it that reminds me a little bit of Batik style prints.

13.05.2017 Eastern Palace Card 03
Stampin’ Up! colours: Island Indigo, Dapper Denim, Night of Navy ink. Dapper Denim Cardstock.

Having satisfied my urge to stamp a pattern using the baby wipe technique, I moved on to card number three. I used the same stamp & repeated the pattern again, only this time I heat embossed it with Stampin’ Emboss powder in White. The most incredible thing about card number three, it that I’ve used just one ink colour to water colour the entire thing. Yep….ALL those blues that you can see on card number three, are from one re-inker…..can you guess which colour it is?

13.05.2017 Eastern Palace Card 02
Stampin’ Up! colours: Island Indigo ink, Dapper Denim Cardstock

It’s all Island Indigo. Amazing what a little water & a little patience can achieve (& I had fun too). Once it had fully dried I backed it with a piece of Dapper Denim cardstock before mounting it onto a thick Whisper White card base. I stamped, heat embossed & coloured a single image to use as an embellishment to go with my sentiment & gave it some extra texture with some Linen Thread.

So now that you’ve seen all THREE cards, tell me which is your favourite? I can’t wait to hear from you 🙂

Much Love, K xo

PS: Here are all the details as promised for the totally fabulous Eastern Palace suiteI am totally obsessed with it & all the possibilities…(In fact I’d go so far as to say that I’ve got a major crush on it, as you’ll see from upcoming blog posts lol!).

Eastern Palace Flyer 02

Click here to shop online
Click icon above to shop online 24/7

____Demo_Shareable_RetiringProducts_SPUK 02

 

___email-sign-up-contact-form-animation

2 thoughts on “Eastern Palace = Major Crush

Leave a Reply

