Stampin' Up! · Tutorials

Tickled Pink about a new Arrival

27.05.2017 Fabulous Flamingo Crown 03

I’m definitely Tickled Pink with this new stamp set. I knew I would be (because it’s a Fabulous Flamingo & I’m just a little obsessed with them….. but you probably already knew that from the number of ways I’ve found to use it recently lol!).

However I did make this card with a purpose in mind. I knew that Kylie Bertucci had one of her International blog highlights coming up & that the theme for June was “Baby”. If you’d like to have a look at what everyone else made & vote for me, click here.

I wanted to create something that was a bit different & a little out of the box, so to speak. I wanted it to stand out from the crowd & be memorable, after all… the arrival of a new baby is a hugely memorable occasion.

When I think of newborn babies it makes me feel happy & it reminds me of that lovely delicious new baby smell, & all that lovely soft baby skin & white fluffy towels. So of course I wanted to make my pretty pink flamingo look lovely & soft & fluffy too. I was able to achieve that look by using my Stampin’ Spritzer & my Aqua Painter.

27.05.2017 Fabulous Flamingo Crown 02

Top Tip: Using the Stampin’ Spritzer allowed me to gently mist water over the top of my inked up image prior to stamping, making it extra juicy & more susceptible to “bleeding”…but I didn’t stop there. I also gently spritzed a fine mist of water over my piece of water colour paper before I stamped the first image onto it. 

Once I had all 3 stamping steps completed I started adding in extra colour, texture & depth using my Stampin’ Up! water colour pencils & Aqua Painters. I took my time slowly building up shadows & highlights until I was happy.

I then stamped & heat embossed a gold crown (from the Tabs for Everything stamp set) for a touch of, princess style whimsy & to make it more girly; But guess what…..I had a boo boo!! It seems that metallic looking embossing powder doesn’t always get along with water colour paper & it didn’t look how I wanted it too…it was flat & dull…sad face.

Well, that boo boo (& sad face) had to be fixed pronto! So I grabbed my Wink of Stella brush (sorry the gold colour has now retired, although it wasn’t when I made this) & I coloured in the entire crown. Then it was back to happy days & smiley faces for me, because I think it looks fab!

To add some interest to the background I splattered ink across the paper using my Aqua Painter, & some gold from my Wink of Stella which looks like wonderful confetti :-)…..but I felt it wasn’t quite right. So I took a gamble (that paid off) & I added some “ground” underneath my flamingo’s feet using my watercolour pencils & my fingers to softly smudge it. Top Tip: Why did I use my fingers & not my Aqua Painter?…. because I didn’t want to accidentally ruin my careful colouring & splattering with an accidental slip of the brush. 

27.05.2017 Fabulous Flamingo Colour Combo

By now the whole thing was looking pretty terrific, so after a little bit of “umming & ahhing” I added some Linen Thread & Gold Metallic thread to the card to make a super sweet little bow right above that sparkly crown.

27.05.2017 Fabulous Flamingo Crown 07

I also went a step further & decorated the inside of the card too…I mean why not?! It’s a pretty special card, for a very special occasion, & one that’s likely to be kept as memento, for the future.

27.05.2017 Fabulous Flamingo Crown 06

I repeated the colours from the flamingo & washed them over some more water colour paper to create a lovely background for what I think is the most perfect sentiment :-)!! LOVE IT!! A bit more splattering & gold metallic thread & I had an inside worthy of the outside.

27.05.2017 Fabulous Flamingo Crown 04

How did I get that multi coloured sentiment? I used my Stampin’ Write markers in the same colours as the ink & coloured them directly on top of each other onto a clear acrylic block. Top tip: Start with the lightest coloured marker first & then add the colours in progression finishing with the darkest, so that you don’t accidentally stain your markers. I used that as an “ink pad” & gently “smooshed” my stamp onto it, in a couple of different spots before finally stamping it onto the paper.

So tell me, would you be Tickled Pink to receive this as a baby card? I’d love to know your thoughts, so please leave me a comment below, it’ll make my day & put a smile on my dial 🙂

Much Love, K xo

I've Moved Image

P.S. Don’t forget that you can vote for me & my card in Kylie’s International Blog Highlight, just click here to go to the voting page. Thanks xo

Click here to shop online
Click here to shop Online 24/7.

Product List:

121685s
Crumb Cake A4 Cardstock
Sweet Sugarplum A4 Cardstock
Sweet Sugarplum A4 Cardstock
Watercolor Paper
Watercolour Paper
Fabulous Flamingo Photopolymer Stamp Set
Tabs for Everything Photopolymer Stamp Set
Watercolor Pencils
Stampin’ Up! Watercolour Pencils
Aqua Painters
Aqua Painters
Stampin' Spritzer
Stampin’ Spritzer
Stitched Shapes Framelits Dies
Stitched Shapes Framelits
Gold Metallic Thread
Gold Metallic Thread
Linen Thread
Linen Thread
Sweet Sugarplum Classic Stampin' Pad
Sweet Sugarplum Ink Pad
Blushing Bride Classic Stampin' Pad
Blushing Bride Ink Pad
Pink Pirouette Classic Stampin' Pad
Pink Pirouette Ink Pad
Brights Stampin' Write Markers
Brights Stampin’ Write Markers
Subtles Stampin' Write Markers
Subtles Stampin’ Write Markers
2016-2018 In Color Stampin' Write Markers
In Colour 2016-2018 Stampin’ Write Markers
Leave a Reply

