Classes · Stampin' Up!

Masculine Monday

2017.06.29 August Card Class 03

Hello & welcome to week 1 of my Masculine Monday blog posts.

With less than a month before we celebrate Father’s Day here in Australia, I thought it was time to start thinking about how to I’m going to show my love & appreciation for some of the wonderful men in my life, my dad & my husband.

A part of showing my love & appreciation is the giving of a card that I feel represents them in some way….

However I know that finding just the right card can be a little tricky at times…..

Especially if you’re trying to find a card for men in between 10 – 65yrs old. There seems to be quite a lot of cards for little boys under 10 & for men over 65….but not as many in between.

So with that in mind, I’ve had a look through all the cards I’ve been making recently & rounded up some of my faves to share with you in the lead up to Father’s Day.

I’ll be posting a different Masculine card design each Monday for the rest of the month, so make sure you come back & see what’s new each week.

2017.06.29 Lift Me Up Cards 02

This weeks featured cards, are 2 designs that we made at one of my recent card making classes.

Both cards were made using the same stamp set, Lift Me Up from Stampin’ Up! & the coordinating Up & Away Thinlit dies.

The larger card, features an intricate hot air balloon made from Island Indigo cardstock & backed with Marina Mist cardstock. The delightful swirled background is the result of using Soft Sky ink with the NEW Marbled background stamp (if you haven’t got this one yet, do yourself a favour & place an order for it now). I think the combination makes it look like the wind is gently blowing the clouds & balloons around & “sending” the message straight to the recipient….what do you think?

I stamped & coloured the sentiment banner before using my paper snips to cut it out.

Top Tip 1: I cut a little slot into the banner to make it wide enough that I could actually wrap it around the back of the balloon…it’s a little detail but it really packs a punch.

The sentiment banner is from the Guy Greetings stamp set, which includes the following words as stamps: Dad, Husband, Grandpa, Brother, Father, Uncle, that you can choose from & use to stamp on the inside of your card to personalise it even further.

Top Tip 2: I coloured the banner in using Island Indigo ink & a blender pen. I added extra depth to the shadows by using the Island Indgio marker. 

Card number 2 is smaller as I’ve used a notecard & envelope from one of the Notecard & envelope packs that are available to buy from Stampin’ Up!. These are great for quick cards as they’ve been pre-cut & pre-scored for you.

2017.06.29 Lift Me Up Cards 03

I again used the Lift Me Up stamp set & Up & Away thinlits dies for the balloons & clouds. I added an extra layer with a square that I cut out using the Stitched Shapes framelits dies from Stampin’ Up!.

To get a little more interest & texture on the background of the square I used the Timeless Textures stamp set & did some light sponging in Pool Party ink before stamping the grid pattern over the top in Crumb Cake ink.

Top Tip 3: I also sponged the edges of my clouds in Crumb Cake ink to make them a little more vintage looking. You could take it even further & sponge the edges of the balloons & sentiment if you like.

The watercolour looking “splatter” marks were made using a stamp from the Happy Celebrations stamp set. 

I chose a sentiment from the Lift Me Up stamp set. It stamps as a straight line, however I used my paper snips to cut each word out & then arranged & glued them down using Tombow Multipurpose glue.

So what do you think?

Would you make these cards you’d make for someone special in your life?

Much Love, K xo

I've Moved Image

PS: Don’t forget to come back again next Monday for week number 2 of Masculine Monday.

 

Click icon above to Shop Online 24/7

 

Leave a Reply

